Freelance website designer, Kelly Drewett

I am a freelance website designer, who builds CMS websites to be found. I am a WordPress expert. I customise themes, or create with Bootstrap CSS framework.

I fully understand search engines, and can help with on page and off page SEO tactics.

I can analyse your website and your competition to improve your online presence.

My name is Kelly Drewett. I was born in Oxford and bought up in a beautiful village in the Cotswolds, where I started freelancing web design as Kaydee Web in 1999.

18 years later and after a lot of world travelling I now divide my time between the Rhône-Alpes, France and Oxfordshire in the UK.

A career as a freelance website designer

Back in the days when the internet first became accessible I was 17 and working as computer illustrator, before (I believed) going on to further education.

At that time, I was offered training in web design with a small company. With a natural ability in design and computers I snapped up the opportunity. I loved it.

Just before my 20th Birthday I started my own web design company. I worked from my mum’s computer until I saved enough money to buy my own.

Freelance website designer Kelly Drewett

“Web trends and algorithms change dramatically over time.

Continuous training to keep up with advancing technologies is part and parcel of the job.”

Take a look at my portfolio

The beginning

I had ups and downs and made mistakes. I learnt a lot about small businesses and business owners.

I  successfully worked in the Oxfordshire area for 12 years and set up an office in the centre of Witney.

There came a period of my life when I had no ties, around when WiFi became readily available anywhere and everywhere. I realised I could travel as I worked.

For 5 years that is what I did.

Travelling and working

I visited my sister in Canada, and then travelled much of North America, in a Buick called Hank. I saw Canada and the US, whilst working day to day on my computer in motels.

When Hank finally packed in, I used buses and I couchsurfed a lot, always ending up some where mountainous for the winter season.

Travelling whilst working in Europe

A New Zealand friend I met in Canada then joined me in western Europe. We travelled for 5 months in my high-top VW camper van, Ellis. Naming vehicles seems to be ritual.

We had an amazing summer visiting different countries, and getting to know many people and cultures.

At the beginning of that winter, I drove to the French Alps to find a place to spend the winter in the snow.

There I met my partner, Ben who is, oddly, a website developer as well! Having jobs we could both do remotely meant we could travel together.

The first summer we got to know France, Italy and Croatia, using Ellis the camper van as a home and office, but always returning to the Alps.

Travelling whilst working in Asia

After some rest and recuperation we hit south east Asia. We travelled with backpacks; our home offices strapped to our fronts. It must have looked like we had a lot of luggage.

That winter we settled in Hakuaba Goryu, Japan to, again, spend time on the mountains. We rented a maisonette from which we could snowboard, ski and use the extra bedroom as an office.

Web design and search engine optimisation

Our hearts were always back in the RhôneAlpes, where we had met.

Travelling whilst working is wonderful, but takes dedication. So for now, no more long trips.

We returned to the Alps and built ourselves a huge office space, where we can concentrate on our individual businesses, train and generally geek out!

You may find us procrastinating on the darts board from time to time.

We now live and work between the UK and the French Alps, with a great work-life balance.

Take the time to email me if you do not know exactly what you want from your online presence.

I’m sure I can help.

Get to know me

I love my family, my friends and the mountains.

I love learning about different cultures and people.

I love people with random ideas.

I enjoy travel, music, yoga, swimming, the great outdoors; camping, snowboarding, mountain biking and trail running. And a glass of wine or three.

I spend my time studying design, technology and social media, learning french, socialising, cooking and eating foods from around the world.

I enjoy hiking in the mountains and learning new sports. I will give anything a go.

Get in touch

[contact-form-7 id=”3443″ title=”Kaydee Short”]